Printer-friendly version

Quality Reporting

The Ambulatory Surgical Center Quality Reporting (ASCQR) Program was finalized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in the 2012 ASC Final Payment Rule. There are currently ten measures on which Medicare-certified facilities are required to report in order to avoid future Medicare payment reductions. Implementation of ASC-11 has been delayed until January 1, 2015.

Here is a breakdown, by measure, of what is currently required:

  • ASCs must continue to report on measures ASC-1 through ASC-5. These claims-based measures are entered as G-codes on the CMS-1500 claim form.

  • ASC-6 and ASC-7 data that was collected in 2013 will not be reported in 2014.* Data reporting will resume in 2015, via CMS’ QualityNet web site.

*The 2014 ASC final payment rule indicated that this was being done in order to align the reporting periods across all measures on a three-year cycle. Data is collected the first year and reported the second year and the payment determinations are impacted in the third year. Data must continue to be collected in 2014 to be reported in 2015.

  • ASC-8 data collection will take place for the influenza season between October 1, 2014, and March 31, 2015. The data will be reported in 2015, and the dates will be laid out in the 2015 ASC final payment rule. Click here to download an NSHN training webinar for reporting influenza vaccination data.

  • ASC-9 and ASC-10 are web-based measures that will be reported via QualityNet in 2015. This aggregate data must be reported by all Medicare-certified ASCs, regardless of specialty or case mix. If your center does not perform colonoscopies, for both ASC-9 and ASC-10 you will enter “0” in the numerator and the denominator.

  • Implementation of ASC-11 has been delayed until January 1, 2015.

Visit the Quality Reporting Timeline page for more information.

Additional Resources

ASC Quality Reporting Measures Specifications Manual 4.0

Quality Data G-Codes

Safe Surgery Checklist Information

2014 Final Rule Quality Reporting FAQs

Sample CMS-1500 Claim Form

Reproduction in whole or in part without written permission from ASCA is prohibited.